I've never wanted to have a child, and when people ask me "whyzzat?" I've said that I don't have the biochemical desire, which is true. But in addition to that, I've pointed out "Well, I'm not mature / patient / disciplined enough". Last night I realized that's not really an excuse so much as a complete admission of guilt. I've noted before that it is a good thing to be mature enough to be in a romantic relationship, regardless of whether or not a relationship is something God provides. It would be kind of stupid to get off the logical train there.
For some reason cognitive dissonance set in and I never took it any further. Because a lot of reasons. Which are all dumb. So the moral of the story is that even if I never end up having a child, developing the qualities necessary for parenting is not an optional goal. One can say "I choose not to reproduce" (or choose not not to), and that's totally okay, but do not try to absolve oneself of the choice through lame, lame self-disqualification. That's so lame. Don't do that, me.
-J
Monday, December 28, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment