Saturday, March 8, 2014

Watching the 2013 Seahawks on DVD: Game 2: San Francisco @ Seattle

I didn't watch the Seahawks this year because I care too much.  Now that I know how the season ends, I bought the games on DVD and I'm enjoying all the wins without the stress (and commercials).



Man, this crowd is HYPE.  Frank Gore went to "The U", apparently.  I could see that causing confusion if there was more than one possible thing that could be called that, but fortunately for him there isn't so it's perfectly clear what he's referring to.  We open by trading 3&outs.  Someone blows a whistle and Seattle's line stands up like meerkats; SF blows by them and blocks the punt.  Oy... SF marches down to our 9... 2nd & goal... 3rd & goal... deflected by Thurmond!   Caught by Thomas!  That's one way to end a drive.  Pete Carroll is 62 today.  Lynch says "I'll take 20 yards, thanks."  Then nothing happens until 3 minutes left in the 1st quarter when the refs halt the game due to dangerous weather.  Yeesh, lightning.  I did not remember this happening.

2nd quarter, and the Hawks are methodically alternating between amazing amazingness and brow-furrowing bunglation.  Kaep has gone to 100% hand signals.  Doesn't work out for him, safety.  Woo, two-nothing lead!  Then a lot more nothing.

Cliff Avril forces a fumble, Wright recovers; 3rd turnover if you count the safety.  Field goal makes it 5-0.  Lots more nothing.  Taunting penalty on Seattle, 15 yards.

Nothing happens until 11:something in the 3rd quarter when RW throws a 50-yarder to Baldwin.  That guy is a beeftank.  S l o w  a c t i o n  a n d  t h e n  Lynch!  Touchdown!  5 more minutes and SF gets 3 on the board.  DOPE shovel pass to Tate for 20 yards... erased by a holding call.  By a receiver.  Oy.  Then a 40 yard pass int penalty on the 49ers, so I guess that works out.  Another 15 for crown of the helmet and we're in good position.  Ha ha; I laugh every time they show Harbaugh getting mad.  4th quarter.  Lynch again!  Catches the ball one inch from the endzone then waits for a full second before taking a tiny step in.

Sherman with a huge interception!  I wondered where he was this game.  Aaaaand dancing with the SeaGals.  Delicious.  According to the announcers Sherman blames Harbaugh's badmouthing for Sherman being taken later in the draft.  I guess that would explain the animosity.  Field goal makes it 22-3.  11:30 to go.  Biggest crowd ever at the CLink, they're saying.  Thurmond with a big deflection, he's goin' crazy tonight.  Ridiculous tackle by Sherman.  Boldin makes his first catch 50 minutes into the game.  Then we pull a keystone cops trying to tackle Kaepernick.  Ugh, c'mon guys.  

Kam Chancellor with a pick returned to the 2.  Man, he didn't even have to move.  Announcer says Kam bought his mom a car.  And a house to park it in.  Cool.  Lynch!  Again!  Extra point makes it 29-3.  Special teams force a fumble on the kickoff and this game is rad.  Should have been another 7 on the board for us, but the refs called it dead incorrectly.  We run out the clock on the SF 10 and there's your ballgame.  I woulda liked to hang another 7 on them because 49ers, but I really respect that Pete isn't me, and he makes the right choice there.

The first half was pretty dorfy, but we came out like a murderer's row in the second thirty.  Enjoy your flight home, San Fran.

-J

No comments:

Post a Comment