Sunday, March 23, 2014

Watching the 2013 Seahawks on DVD: Game 3: Jacksonville @ Seattle

I didn't watch the Seahawks this year because I care too much.  Now that I know how the season ends, I bought the games on DVD and I'm enjoying all the wins without the stress (and commercials).



Man, I'm bummed we've lost Golden Tate in this offseason. I'm happy for him that he's gonna get paid cuz the dude can play, but he was such an amazing secret weapon for us because no one knew the dude can play.  RW is at 9 home wins in a row going into this one, he'll rack u a few more before the season's done.  Marshawn makin' em look foolish.  27 yards... season high?  I wouldn't have guessed.  Ridiculous fake by RW.  Now Lynch again, down to the 5.  And again, down to the 1 inch line.  Pete challenges.  I LOVE HAVING NO COMMERCIALS.

Man, this game looks moist.  We lose the challenge.  No worries, though, right?  3rd down and nothing, right?  HAAAAAA.  SAME FAKE.  Zach Miller getting POINTS.  Hands the ball to the fans, I love this team.  

Hauschka runs right by the ball without kicking it.  Haven't seen that before... I guess he wanted another run at it.  Ugh, Chad Henne looks terrible in this game.  I kind of feel bad for the Jags since they have 1) a terrible team name and 2) ugly uniforms and 3) one of the worst cumulative records in football, but I also kind of don't feel bad for them because I don't like states that have three football teams.  Florida has Jacksonville, Tampa Bay, and Miami.  That's too much for such a small state.  Give a team to someone else.  New York has the Jets, the Giants, and the Yankees.  No wait, the Bills.  But who cares about the Bills.  California is the most populous state so you can kind of make an argument there.  I like the Chargers since they're sort of a hard luck team like us.  My friend Dustin described them as a team whose steadfast refusal to be bad is only matched by their steadfast refusal to be good.  Henne gets thwomped again.

look at that tiny slice of Florida that cares about the Jaguars.  The Jags have actually made a deal to play one game per season in London to try to increase their fanbase.

2nd quarter, Tate again.  Guy is a monster.  Miller again!  Do work, son!  14 unanswered now.  Hawks haven't started a season with three straight wins since 2006.  That's ridiculous.  Seven rough years, mang.  False start on a punt attempt by Jacksonville kind of sums up this game for them.  Hawks take over on the Jags' 46. They aren't even a real NFL team - just some unfortunate guys who happen to be standing inbetween us and a win.  Kearse, now Williams gets a million yard PI call.  Jax holds us to 3, so I guess they can sorta celebrate something.  Wagner with the pick at the end of the 1st half.  Rice, Rice, baby.  79 yards in 5 plays covering 34 seconds.  24-0.

Even without commercials this game isn't going as fast as I need it to.  Time for bed, we'll pick up the rest later.

- Jeremy

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Watching the 2013 Seahawks on DVD: Game 2: San Francisco @ Seattle

I didn't watch the Seahawks this year because I care too much.  Now that I know how the season ends, I bought the games on DVD and I'm enjoying all the wins without the stress (and commercials).



Man, this crowd is HYPE.  Frank Gore went to "The U", apparently.  I could see that causing confusion if there was more than one possible thing that could be called that, but fortunately for him there isn't so it's perfectly clear what he's referring to.  We open by trading 3&outs.  Someone blows a whistle and Seattle's line stands up like meerkats; SF blows by them and blocks the punt.  Oy... SF marches down to our 9... 2nd & goal... 3rd & goal... deflected by Thurmond!   Caught by Thomas!  That's one way to end a drive.  Pete Carroll is 62 today.  Lynch says "I'll take 20 yards, thanks."  Then nothing happens until 3 minutes left in the 1st quarter when the refs halt the game due to dangerous weather.  Yeesh, lightning.  I did not remember this happening.

2nd quarter, and the Hawks are methodically alternating between amazing amazingness and brow-furrowing bunglation.  Kaep has gone to 100% hand signals.  Doesn't work out for him, safety.  Woo, two-nothing lead!  Then a lot more nothing.

Cliff Avril forces a fumble, Wright recovers; 3rd turnover if you count the safety.  Field goal makes it 5-0.  Lots more nothing.  Taunting penalty on Seattle, 15 yards.

Nothing happens until 11:something in the 3rd quarter when RW throws a 50-yarder to Baldwin.  That guy is a beeftank.  S l o w  a c t i o n  a n d  t h e n  Lynch!  Touchdown!  5 more minutes and SF gets 3 on the board.  DOPE shovel pass to Tate for 20 yards... erased by a holding call.  By a receiver.  Oy.  Then a 40 yard pass int penalty on the 49ers, so I guess that works out.  Another 15 for crown of the helmet and we're in good position.  Ha ha; I laugh every time they show Harbaugh getting mad.  4th quarter.  Lynch again!  Catches the ball one inch from the endzone then waits for a full second before taking a tiny step in.

Sherman with a huge interception!  I wondered where he was this game.  Aaaaand dancing with the SeaGals.  Delicious.  According to the announcers Sherman blames Harbaugh's badmouthing for Sherman being taken later in the draft.  I guess that would explain the animosity.  Field goal makes it 22-3.  11:30 to go.  Biggest crowd ever at the CLink, they're saying.  Thurmond with a big deflection, he's goin' crazy tonight.  Ridiculous tackle by Sherman.  Boldin makes his first catch 50 minutes into the game.  Then we pull a keystone cops trying to tackle Kaepernick.  Ugh, c'mon guys.  

Kam Chancellor with a pick returned to the 2.  Man, he didn't even have to move.  Announcer says Kam bought his mom a car.  And a house to park it in.  Cool.  Lynch!  Again!  Extra point makes it 29-3.  Special teams force a fumble on the kickoff and this game is rad.  Should have been another 7 on the board for us, but the refs called it dead incorrectly.  We run out the clock on the SF 10 and there's your ballgame.  I woulda liked to hang another 7 on them because 49ers, but I really respect that Pete isn't me, and he makes the right choice there.

The first half was pretty dorfy, but we came out like a murderer's row in the second thirty.  Enjoy your flight home, San Fran.

-J

Friday, March 7, 2014

Drawing a blank

I love a blank piece of paper.  It's so clean and white.  Nothing is wrong with it.  If I start to draw, there will be lines and shading and angles that I don't like, that make it wrong, but a blank page is so peaceful.  There's nothing to criticize.  A blank "new post" page feels the same.  I'm going to slop a lot of words on there and hope for the best, but it was ultimately fine before I messed it up.

I know that not everyone feels this way.  To many a blank page represents possibility.  And to me it does too.  But just because it's quiet doesn't mean that someone has to make noise.  Sometimes the blank is nice.  A lot of times, to me.


... you've got to start with something.  Nothing can't really be improved upon, but something can.  Do something, then come back and fix it up better than it was.  You may never get back to the peace of a blank page, but maybe the trade-off will be worth it with the new fixed-up thing you've chaperoned into the world.

-J

Monday, March 3, 2014

Watching the 2013 Seahawks on DVD: Game 1: Seattle @ Carolina

I didn't watch the Seahawks this year because I care too much.  Now that I know how the season ends, I bought the games on DVD and I'm enjoying all the wins without the stress (and commercials).




Man, we look pretty sketchy in this game.  Doug Baldwin caught an impossible throw, and Sidney Rice had a nice reception, but a Carolina punt reception turnover and a Carolina Unsportsmanlike penalty are the only reason we're in this one at all.  Trailing 6-7 after 45 minutes and the Panthers look like they're just mowing us down.  Cam has thrown some bad ones, but is always a running threat.  Russell has coughed up a fumble in the red zone and killed another red zone possession with an Intentional Grounding.  Wow, another Unsportsmanlike on Carolina; both of them were out-of-bounds players not immediately returning inbounds on the kickoff.
"There is a correction on the previous penalty enforcement."  Whaaat.  Ref awkwardly tries to explain the rules.  Never seen that before.  OK, re-kickoff, slightly better field position.  Lynch is getting swallowed this game.  Our whole team looks smaller than theirs.  Nice catch by Tate.  Woo, big run by Turbin!  15 yards, feels like a mile compared to what we've been doing.  Wilson goes looooooonnnng.... Steven Williams gets two hands on it but can't complete.  Doggone it man... How many chances like that are you gonna have?  Oh, nevermind.  Next down, Kearse - touchdown!  Kearse's first NFL touchdown, says the announcers.  Hawks go for two?  Against this Carolina defense?  I don't see this happening... throw is high, no good.  Great touchdown throw, though.  What was that, 40 yards of air?  43 say the announcers.  Awesome.
Ted Ginn Jr. watches another kickoff bounce through the endzone.  That would make... all of them so far.  Maybe he's tired.  Also I hear they sometimes hit you in football so I can see why he wouldn't like that.  Ten minutes to go.
Facemask against Seattle.   Yards yards yards.  Sherman & Thomas knock it out!  Seattle almost gets stood up behind their own 10 but Baldwin saves the day again.  This Carolina audience keeps hooting.  It's very odd.  Not cheers or boos... just... hoots.  Tate showing off.  Wilson's first 300+ yard game ever?  Really?  He's been getting roughed up, too.  Nice pass to Coleman for a first down.  Lynch with a very pro run.  Scrambling around, getting a few, running down time and getting tackled inbounds.  Supastaah.  A buck thirty left.
Now under a minute. Russ takes a knee and there's your ballgame.  
Hawks win 12-7.  Yay. =)

-J